NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY DURGAPUR-713209, WEST BENGAL, INDIA

Minutes of the 24th Finance Committee Meeting held on July 26th, 2013 at Cryogenic Building, Conference Room, VECC, 1/AF Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata – 700064.

The following Members attended the Meeting

1. Prof. Bikash Sinha

Chairman

Homi Bhabha Professor, DAE Chairman, Board of Governors, NIT Durgapur And Director (Retd.) Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, 1/AF, BidhanNagar, Kolkata-700064.

2. Prof. T. Kumar

Member

Director, N.I.T., Durgapur.

3. Shri Rajesh Singh,-

Member

Director (NITs), Dept. of Higher Education, MHRD, Govt. of India

4. Shri Navin Soi

Member

Director (Finance), Integrated Finance Division, Dept. of Higher Education, MHRD, Govt. of India

5. Prof. Siddhartha Datta

Member

Pro- Vice Chancellor, Jadavpur University, Kolkata-700032

1

Gh.

6. Prof. M.C. Majumder

Member

Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering. NIT, Durgapur-700009

7. Col. (Retd.) P.S. Sandhu,

Member Secretary

Registrar & Secretary, Board of Governors NIT, Durgapur

Item # 24.01: To Confirm the Minutes of the 23rd Finance Committee Meeting held on 26th April 2013

The minutes of the 23rd Meeting of Finance Committee was held on 26th April 2013in the Conference Room, Cryogenics Building, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), 1/AF, Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata – 700 064 were circulated to the members. The minutes of the 23rd Finance Committee Meeting were confirmed.

Item # 24.02: To note action taken on the Minutes of the 23rd Finance Committee Meeting held on 26th April 2013.

The action taken on the minutes of the 23rd Finance Committee Meeting held on 26th April 2013 were noted.

Item # 24.03: To consider the recommendations of the 23rd Meeting of Building and Works Committee held on April 23rd, 2013 regarding SN Ray Memorial Building.

The Finance Committee was apprised of the recommendations of the 23rd Meeting of Building and Works Committee held on April 23rd, 2013 regarding SN Ray Memorial Building and approved the revised estimates of NBCC as reexamined by CPWD.

2

Item # 24.04: To consider Plan and Non-Plan fund position of the Institute as on 15/07/2013.

The Finance Committee was apprised of the release of funds, expenditure till date and fund received from MHRD till date. The progress of expenditure of Plan funds was reviewed by MHRD and in the case of NIT Durgapur the progress was appreciated by Ms. Ameeta Sharma, Additional Secretary, MHRD. It was also mentioned that additional plan funds for NIT Durgapur will be considered favourably.

Item # 24.05: To consider the Annual Accounts and Annual Report of the of NIT Durgapur for the financial year 2012-2013.

The Finance Committee approved and recommended to the Board of Governors the Annual Accounts and Annual Report of the of NIT Durgapur for the financial year 2012-2013.

The observation made by the Chartered Accountant in his report under point 4 (d) in respect of late deposit of Income Tax and Work Contract Tax deducted by the Institute with the respective authority, the Finance Committee resolved that in future it will be ensured that Income Tax and Work Contract Tax deducted by the Institute be deposited with the respective authority within the due date.

Item # 24.06: To consider the proposal from the Department of Earth& Environmental Studies regarding acquisition of Atomic Absorption Spectrometer with Graphite Furnace (AAS-GF)

The Finance Committee approved and recommended the proposal to the Board of Governors.

Item # 24.07: To consider the pay anomaly of Mr. Srikrishna Sharma, Ex-U.D.C. of NITD.

Deferred.

Item # 24.08: Any other matter with the permission of the Chair.

A) International Travel Guidelines under TEQIP-II

The Finance Committee approved and recommended the guidelines to the Board of Governors.

(B) Ratification of Approvals granted by the Chairman, Board of Governors

Recommendation for foreign visits of the faculty members under TEQIP-II

The Finance Committee approved and recommended the approvals to the Board of Governors.

There being no other point, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Col. (Retd.) P.S. Sandhu

Registrar and Member Secretary

Finance Committee

26 Jul 2013

Prof. Bikash Sinha

Chairman, Finance Committee