NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY DURGAPUR-713209, WEST BENGAL, INDIA

Minutes of the 28th Board of Governors Meeting held on July 26th, 2013 at Cryogenic Building, Conference Room, VECC, 1/AF Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata – 700064.

The following Members attended the Meeting

1. Prof. Bikash Sinha Chairman Homi Bhaba Professor, DAE Chairman, Board of Governors. **NIT Durgapur** And Director (Retd.) Saha Instt. Of Nuclear Physics. 1/AF, Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata-700064. 2. Prof. T. Kumar Member Director, N.I.T., Durgapur. 3. Shri Rajesh Singh, Member Director (NITs), Dept. of Higher Education. MHRD, Govt. of India 4. Shri Navin Soi Member Director (Finance), Integrated Finance Division, Dept. of Higher Education, MHRD, Govt. of India 5. Prof. Siddhartha Datta Member Pro-Vice Chancellor, Jadavpur University, Kolkata-700032 6. Dr. Sajal Dasgupta Member **Director of Technical Education** Govt. of West Bengal, Bikash Bhavan Kolkata- 700 091 Dinke

1

- Prof. Abhijit Chakrabarti Professor, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, 1/AF, Bidhan Nagar Kolkata – 700 064
- 8. Prof. M.C. Majumder Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering. NIT, Durgapur-700009
- 9. Dr. Dipankar Sukul Associate Professor, Dept. Of Chemistry, NIT, Durgapur

10. Col. (Retd.) P.S. Sandhu,

Registrar & Secretary, Board of Governors NIT, Durgapur

Dr. (Mrs.) Nabanita Das, Professor, Advanced Computing & Micro-Electronics Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata could not attend the meeting and was granted leave of absence by the Chairman, Board of Governors.

Item # 28.01: To Confirm the Minutes of the 27th Meeting of Board of Governors held on 26th April, 2013.

The minutes of the 27th Meeting of Board of Governors held on 26th April, 2013 in the Conference Room, Cryogenics Building, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), 1/AF, Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata – 700 064 were circulated to the members. The minutes of the 27th Meeting of the Board of Governors were confirmed. The observations raised by members were noted. The minutes were confirmed.

Item # 28.02: To note action taken on the Minutes of the 27th Meeting of Board

of Governors held on 26th April, 2013.

Action taken on the minutes of the 27th Meeting of Board of Governors held on 26th April, 2013 were noted. The point # 27.11 was raised and deliberated as follows:-

In the case of application of para 10 of the UGC Guidelines it was resolved that it will be better if the consideration of service of a faculty in a private engineering college is left to the Selection Committee to consider at the time of recruitment at the entry level.

). le

Member

Member

Member

Secretary

Item # 28.03: To consider the recommendations of the 24th Finance Committee Meeting held on 26th July, 2013.

Approved.

Item # 28.04: To consider minutes of the 30th Senate Meeting held on July 24th, 2013.

Approved.

Item # 28.05: To consider compliance to GOI Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pension, Department of Personnel & Training memo No. 11013/08/2013-Estt. (A)-III dated 6th June, 2013.

Adopted.

Item # 28.06: To consider confirmation of the employees

The Board of Governors approved the confirmation.

SI. No	Name of the Faculty members	Designation	Department	Date of Joining the post	Date of Confirmation	Highest qualification
1	Dr. Sudip Chattopadhyay	Professor	Biotechnology	06.03.2009	06.03.2010	PhD

The Board of Governors suggested that opinion be sought in respect of the probation period from faculty and staff of the Institute and if required, the changes, if any, be recommended to the GOI through the Board of Governors.

Item # 28.07: To reconsider the status of Dr. C. Saravanan recruited as Assistant Professor (Systems Manager) as faculty.

Approved.

Approved.

Item # 28.08: To consider corrigendum to the BOG resolution no. 14.09 of the 14th BOG Meeting regarding the highest qualification of Dr. Kaushik Mandal, Assistant Professor, Department of Management Studies.

Blik

3

Item # 28.09: Any other matter with the permission of the Chair.

(A) Appointment of part time Chief Vigilance Officer in National Institute of Technology, Durgapur.

The Board of Governors deliberated on each name of the panel as suggested comprising of Prof. Showmen Saha, Prof. Nirmal Kumar Roy and Prof. A. Gangopadhyay for Chief Vigilance Officer in National Institute of Technology, Durgapur and found that Prof. A. Gangopadhyay will be most suitable as Chief Vigilance Officer in National Institute of Technology, Durgapur and recommended him as CVO.

(B) Progress of various on-going projects of the Institute.

The Board of Governors was apprised of the Progress of various on-going projects of the Institute. The Board of Governors resolved that it should be brought as a main agenda point in the next Board of Governors meeting with a presentation on the major construction projects specifically comparing the physical and financial progress by the Dean (P&D)/ Dean (Administration). The Board of Governors also resolved that there should also be a presentation on the ongoing sponsored R&D projects at NIT Durgapur by the Dean (R&C) / the Principal Investigator.

(C) Faculty Recruitment Notification

Approved.

There being no other point, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Prof. Bikash Sinha Chairman, Board of Governors

Col. (Retd.) P.S. Sandhu Registrar and Secretary Board of Governors

26 Jul 2013

4